UCSD Custom Button Tutorial

Version 5

    Problem:

     

    When deleting a VM in vCenter the VM needs to be turned off first before it can be deleted.  From an end user perspective this is not always understood.

     

    Solution:

     

    Create a custom workflow that will combined the 2 steps of turning off the VM and then deleting the VM.  This custom workflow is then presented as a button to the end user display.  When a VM (VM Context) is selected and then the button pressed it will initiated the custom workflow.

     

     

    Step one building the workflow:

     

     

    Policies -> Orchestration -> Workflows -> Add Workflow

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.34.15 AM.png

     

    Ensure on this screen that the VM context is selected and your personal folder:

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.34.51 AM.png

     

    There are no inputs to this workflow since it is running in the selected VM context.

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.35.04 AM.png

     

    In the workflow editor search for power in the upper left hand panel:

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.35.49 AM.png

     

    Drag and drop that task into the right pane.  The comment will show up in the workflow execution screen:

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.36.09 AM.png

     

    This taks will have to run with in the context of the VM:

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.36.16 AM.png

     

     

     

     

     

    Select Power off:

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.36.26 AM.png

     

    Next to make sure the VM is powered off VM inventory needs to be collected:

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.36.47 AM.png

     

    The comment will be visible in the workflow execution:

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.36.59 AM.png

     

    Ensure the correct vCenter account is selected:

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.37.18 AM.png

     

    Select Power VM again and place comment of Delete VM:

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.37.50 AM.png

     

    Select the context of the VM:

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.37.57 AM.png

     

    Select Delete VM:

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.38.08 AM.png

     

    The workflow should look like this:

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.38.22 AM.png

     

    Step 2 the Button:

     

    Policies -> Orchestration -> User VM Action Policy

     

    Either add a new action Policy or add the new action to an existing action.  Here it is added to the policy called Action1.

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.38.37 AM.png

     

    If it is a new action then this would be action #1.  In this case there are already 7 actions and this is going to be action #8.

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.38.51 AM.png

    The action label will be the name of the button the end user is going to see. Select the newly created delete VM workflow and decide who can execute / see this action on their screen.

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.39.40 AM.png

     

    Step 3

     

    Attach the action to a VDC:

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.40.25 AM.png

     

    In the end user log in session select a VM that is in the VDC that the action policy was attached to.  The button will be displayed.

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.45.45 AM.png

     

    Select the button and execute.  In services the execution can bbs followed.

     

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.46.11 AM.png

     

    The end user view of the execution of the workflow:

    Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 7.46.26 AM.png